/etc/hotplug/usb.usermap is no more..

I’ve been currently working on a tutorial for the Nostromo N50/N52 Speed Pads & I needed to try tweaking the USB hot plugging for the device.

After quite a bit of time spent reading through tons of tutorials, I eventually found out that Ubuntu handles all hot/cold plugging through /etc/udev/. /etc/hotplug/ doesn’t even exist for the Ubuntu operating system.

I wish someone had told me this sooner, as it could have saved me a lot of messing about 😦

It seems a shame that they stopped handling USB devices that way. A lot of devices still seem to be having trouble hot plugging correctly within Ubuntu through udev; Wacom tablets being a prime example.

One thought on “/etc/hotplug/usb.usermap is no more..

Leave a Reply

