Toggle Desktop Effects..

After messing about testing Compiz on Hardy, I decided that although it worked well it still had one main problem left. It can interfere with some of the other programs installed in Ubuntu, mostly games and programs that use OpenGL.

I began looking for an easy way to disable it without having to go into the Preferences menu every time and I came across Compiz Switch. This software sits on your Desktops Start Menu + Task Bar and just needs a single click to turn all your effects off. When you want the effects turning back on, just click it again.

Compiz Switch

I’ve tested the version 0.2.0 .deb package on Hardy Heron Beta and haven’t found a problem with it yet.

To get it working, just download this package on Forlong’s Blog..

Ubuntu (this includes Kubuntu and Xubuntu)
compiz-switch_0.2.0~ubuntu_i386.deb

Double click it to install using Gdebi and you should find a shortcut already in your Accessories menu called compiz-switch. If you want to make a Task Bar icon as well, just right click the menu entry and add this launcher to panel.

All I need to do now is figure out a way to auto disable/enable the effects when my laptop changes to and from battery mode and I’ll be completely happy 😀

Thanks to Forlong for making this super easy and for writing up an excellent tutorial on How to set up Compiz Fusion. Looks like I won’t need to write one myself after all. There’s a couple of things that I think he missed off, but I can always write a follow on tutorial to fill in the blanks later if I feel the need 🙂

p.s The image is straight from Forlong’s Blog. I’ll be replacing it with my own after the final version of Hardy comes out.

Leave a Reply

